B2 High-Intermediate 1 Folder Collection
After playing the video, you can click or select the word to look it up in the dictionary.
Report Subtitle Errors
Remember in the first footnote how I said there are 23 Catholic churches within the Catholic Church, *all* with different traditions?
This is one of the times that matters. Only the Latin Church, the largest of the 23, requires priests to be celibate.
The other 22 Catholic Churches known as the Eastern Churches allow married men to become priests, but not to advance any more.
But even this is a bit of an oversimplification, because priests in the Latin Church *can* be married under certain circumstances;
most notably, former Anglican priests who *were* married at the time of their conversion to Catholicism are not required to relinquish their wives.
But as with the Eastern churches their marriage prevents them from rising any higher.
    You must  Log in  to get the function.
Tip: Click on the article or the word in the subtitle to get translation quickly!


Footnote † from How to Become Pope

1 Folder Collection
林宜悉 published on March 28, 2020
More Recommended Videos
  1. 1. Search word

    Select word on the caption to look it up in the dictionary!

  2. 2. Repeat single sentence

    Repeat the same sentence to enhance listening ability

  3. 3. Shortcut


  4. 4. Close caption

    Close the English caption

  5. 5. Embed

    Embed the video to your blog

  6. 6. Unfold

    Hide right panel

  1. Listening Quiz

    Listening Quiz!

  1. Click to open your notebook

  1. UrbanDictionary 俚語字典整合查詢。一般字典查詢不到你滿意的解譯,不妨使用「俚語字典」,或許會讓你有滿意的答案喔